Major General Muhammadu Buhari (retd.), the President of Nigeria has sacked the service chiefs in the country with immediate effect.

Hence, appoints new officers to take over the batons of piloting the security affairs of the country from the sacked Service Chiefs.

Special Adviser On Media and Publicity To President, Femi Adesina, made this known in a tweet on Tuesday.

Adesina wrote, “PMB appoints new Service Chiefs. Maj Gen LEO Irabor, CDS (Chief of Defence Staff), Maj Gen I Attahiru, Army, Rear Adm AZ Gambo, Navy, AVM IO Alao, Air Force.

“He congratulates outgoing Service Chiefs on efforts to bring enduring peace to the country.”

The move by the President comes after several demands by Nigerians that the President replace the service chiefs and rigid Nigeria’s military apparatus to effectively combat the vagaries of security challenges confronting the nation in recent times.

The outgoing service chiefs include General Abayomi Gabriel Olonisakin (Chief of Defence Staff); Lt. Gen. Tukur Buratai (Chief of Army Staff); Vice Admiral Ibok Ibas (Chief of Naval Staff); and Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar (Chief of Air Staff).

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *